Provinces in Canada drag and drop quiz


For all of its ruggedness and wide tracts of untamed wilderness, Canada remains a starkly beautiful land. The country runs a developed economy with generally high standards of living. Ten provinces and three territories build up the Canadian Federation to better address the needs of its locals.
Each province tells a unique part of Canada’s story as a country – from its colonial upbringing to its traditional cultural and ethnic roots. Prove your mastery of Canadian geography by acing this Provinces in Canada drag-and-drop quiz.
British Columbia, the westernmost province, can resemble a fat version of California. It enjoys a temperate climate thanks to its proximity to the Pacific Ocean. Victoria sits as its capital, although the cities of Vancouver and Kelowna also call this province home.
Due to its prairie biome, Alberta boasts a thriving cowboy culture – rodeos are quite popular, with big events such as the Calgary Stampede rodeo festival being conducted every year. It contains part of the country’s portion of the Rocky Mountain Range. Its capital is Edmonton, although other cities like Calgary are also renowned as local cultural centers.
Saskatchewan is a landlocked province, and has its own ample share of prairies. The flat and temperate grassland terrain makes it a conducive place for agriculture. In fact, farming makes up a key part of Saskatchewan’s industry. Its provincial capital is the city of Regina.
Manitoba lies just at the middle of the entire country, neatly dividing its western and eastern halves. Due to the frigid tundras and rocky terrain there, the northern portion of Manitoba is scantly populated. Instead, most Manitobans settle closer to the south. In addition to being the provincial capital, Winnipeg is also considered the capital of polar bears.
Ontario is home to more Canadians than any other province – by a sizable margin. After all, it’s where two of its most prominent cities are located – the national capital of Ottawa and the financial hub of Toronto. A major part of the Niagara Falls – the Horseshoe Falls – can also be found here.
Unique among the provinces are Quebec’s close ties to French culture and tradition. It is easily the largest province in Canada. Many old buildings from its time as a French colony have been preserved, and thus Quebec is hugely popular for historical tourism. Its capital is Quebec City, with the largest city – Montreal – also being the second largest in the country.
New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island form Canada’s three Maritime Provinces. Diminutive in size when compared to other provinces, they are popular for their majestic coastlines, delicious seafood cuisine, wines and liquors, and historical buildings. Their capitals, respectively, are Fredericton, Halifax and Charlottetown.
The easternmost Canadian province is called Newfoundland and Labrador. Newfoundland refers to an island, while Labrador constitutes the part connected to the mainland. It excels in environmental tourism thanks to its glacial landforms and its dearth of icebergs. People can even go sightseeing for whales. The province’s capital is St. John’s, whose residents are among Canada’s most hospitable.

Play More >>